You are here: Home » Sports » Hockey » News
Business Standard

Pakistan selectors announce squad for Hockey Champions Trophy

Rashid Mehmood had replaced Rizwan junior in the squad

Press Trust of India  |  Karachi 

Asian Hockey Championship, India vs Pakistan hockey
(File photo) India's Nilakanta Sharma vies for the ball against Pakistan's Muhammad Irfan Jr. Photo: Hockey Federation of India

Pakistani selectors have made just one change to the national squad for the forthcoming in

Chief selector while announcing the squad said that the experienced had replaced junior in the squad that recently played in the Asian in and shared the title with

"Rashid was playing overseas in professional league when the Asian was held but now he is available and he is one of our most experienced and best midfieders," Islahuddin said.

The former Olympian is also confident that with a little bit of luck is fully capable of winning in

Islahuddin himself was part of the team that won the 1971 and 78 World Cups but Pakistan's last title came way back in 1994 at

Since than has fared poorly in World Cups and didn't even qualify for the 2014 edition and finished last in held in in 2010.

But Islahuddin noted that the team included some senior players and the players had been playing as a unit for a while now.

"The Asian performance has also come as a boost and my effort is to see these players go to after having all their dues cleared by the Federation so that there is no burden on their minds," he said.

The Pakistan squad has been selected after two-day trials in

The 14th edition of featuring teams from 16 nations divided into four pools is being staged in the Indian city of from Nov 28 to Dec 16.

The chief selector acknowledged that Pakistan's pool in the presence of and the is very tough, but insisted, "Our players on a given day have the ability to stun any side of the world."

Mohammad Senior and Ammad Shakeel Butt have been retained as and vice-captain, respectively.

The Pakistan squad is likely to leave for India on Nov 22 or 23 after getting visa, the process for which is currently ongoing.

Squad: Imran Butt, (goalkeepers); Senior, Aleem Bilal, Mubashar Ali, Mohammad Tauseeq Arshad, Tasawwar Abbas, Rashid Mahmood, Ajaz Ahmed, Ammad Shakeel Butt (vice-captain), Junior, Mohammad Senior (captain), Ali Shan, Faisal Qadir, Abubakr Mahmood, Umar Bhutta, Mohammad Atiq Arshad, Mohammad Zubair

Officials:(manager); (head coach); Rehan Butt, Danish Kaleem (coaches); (video analyst); (physiotherapist).

First Published: Fri, November 16 2018. 10:20 IST