Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Schedule Voting Dates

Lok sabha Elections 2019 Schedule

April 23 2019 (Phase3)

Election 2019 News

Lok Sabha Schedule 2019


The Election Commission of India announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 stating that it will be contested from April 11 to May 19, in 7 phases. The 543 Lok Sabha constituencies in the 29 states and 7 Union Territories have been divided in these seven phases. The dates of the election are — Phase 1: April 11, Phase 2: April 19; Phase 3: April 23; Phase 4: April 29; Phase 5: May 6; Phase 6: May 12; Phase 7: May 19. 
Each phase in this election schedule is packed with some of the most anticipated clashes of stalwart politicians. It is interesting to note that this time the elections are being held in seven phases, as opposed to 10 phases in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections. The third phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections is the biggest among the seven. As many as 118 Lok Sabha seats will go to the polls in the third phase of these elections. The fifth phase of the elections 2019 will be the smallest with just 51 seats in the fray. 
While some big states like Gujarat (26 seats), Tamil Nadu (39 seats), Kerala (20 seats), Telangana (17 seats), Andhra Pradesh (25 seats) are going to the polls in just one phase, smaller states like Odisha (21 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (6 seats), Assam (14 seats) are being given more than one phase each for polling. 
Swing states like Uttar Pradesh (80 seats), Bihar (40 setas), West Bengal (42 seats) will see polling in all seven phases. Polls in Maharashtra (48 seats) will surprisingly be wrapped up in just four phases. Many political parties, both national parties and regional powerhouses, will leave no stone unturned during the campaigning for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. 
After the seven-phase election process is over on May 19, on May 23 the results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, spanning over 41 days and seven phases, will be declared and the nation get a new government.