You are here: Home » Companies » News
Business Standard

Anand Mahindra wins E&Y 'Entrepreneur of the Year' award 2009

BS Reporter  |  Mumbai 

Anand Mahindra

Anand Mahindra, the vice-chairman & managing director of Mahindra Group, was today named the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year 2009. Mahindra will represent India at the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award function at Monte Carlo, Monaco, in May 2010.

The award was announced at a function held here tonight. “We have honoured Mahindra for taking his business to the next level, creating a visible impact both in local and global markets, and for the sheer value his businesses have provided to all stakeholders,” said a statement from Ernst & Young. “Mahindra and his entrepreneurial vision have truly set a higher benchmark for the Made in India brand, and hence we have honoured him with the award.”

Mahindra was chosen from 17 entrepreneurs shortlisted by a jury of six headed by The Damodaran Group chairman, Other jury members were Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry’s Director General, Amit Mitra; HSBC India Group Manager & Country Head, Naina Lal Kidwai; Accel Partners’ Managing Partner, Neeraj Bhardwaj; The Oberoi Group’s Chairman & Chief Executive, P R S Oberoi, and Ashok Leyland Managing Director, R Seshasayee.

Seven other entrepreneurs received awards at the banquet. The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to N Vaghul of ICICI Bank for his “unparalleled contribution to the Indian financial sector”. Marico Chairman & Managing Director Harsh Mariwala was selected in the Manufacturing Category. State Bank of India Chairman & Managing Director O P Bhatt was named Manager Entrepreneur Of The Year.

A2Z Maintenance & Engineering Services’ Chairman & Managing Director Amit Mittal got the award for the Start-up Entrepreneur Of The Year. The Services Category Award was given to Allcargo Global Logistics Chairman & Managing Director, Shashi Kiran Shetty. SKS Microfinance Chairperson & founder, Vikram Akula, was named the Business Transformation Entrepreneur Of The Year. The Entrepreneur Of The Year Healthcare & Life Sciences Award went to Zydus Cadila Healthcare Chairman & Managing Director, Pankaj R Patel.

“The winners are outstanding individuals who have not only built best-in-class businesses, but have demonstrated tremendous resilience and tenacity in dealing with uncertainty, and have also displayed the ability to put India back on track quickly,” said Ernst & Young CEO and Country Managing Partner, Rajiv Memani. “Today, our entrepreneurs stand out as a beacon to the world. These individuals may represent diverse sectors, but are united in their desire to positively impact the society and wider community.”

Ernst & Young India launched the awards in 1999. Earlier recipients of the award include N R Narayana Murthy, Ratan Tata, Mukesh Ambani, Sunil Bharti Mittal, Brijmohan Lall Munjal, Kumar Mangalam Birla, Subhash Chandra, Anil Agarwal and Tulsi Tanti.

First Published: Wed, February 17 2010. 00:30 IST