You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting begins in 59 seats in 6th phase of LS polls

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Voting began on Sunday across 59 constituencies spread over seven states, largely in the Hindi heartland, as the sixth and penultimate round of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise kicked off.

A total electorate of 10.17 crore is eligible to exercise their franchise in this phase, which covers 14 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, eight each in Bihar, and and four in as well as all 10 seats of and seven in

Prominent among the 879 candidates in this phase include three-time Chief Sheila Dikshit, who faces in North East, from Uttar Pradesh's Azamgarh, former Chief against BJP's Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur in Bhopal, former (BJP) is contesting against AAP's Atishi in East Delhi and (Congress) is the fray from South Delhi.

Also contesting are Union Ministers Maneka Gandhi, from UP's Sultanpur, from Bihar's East Champaran, Harsh Vardhan from Delhi's Chandni and from Gurugram, Congress' (West UP) Jyotiraditya Scindia from Madhya Pradesh's Guna, former Chief from Sonipat while Bengali film hero Deepak Adhikari 'Dev' (Trinamool Congress) will lock horns with the BJP's Bharati Ghosh, a former IPS and once a trusted of Mamata Banerjee, in Ghatal.

In this phase, the BJP will be defending 45 seats -- seven of the eight seats in Bihar, eight of 10 in Haryana, all four in Jharkhand, seven of eight in Madhya Pradesh, 12 of 14 in and all seven in Delhi.

BJP's allies (LJP) and Apna Dal had won one seat each in and Uttar Pradesh, respectively. The had won two seats - and Rohtak - while the and the (INLD) had won one seat apiece in and Haryana, respectively.

The Trinamool had won all the eight seats going to the polls in the sixth phase in

The seven-phase and would conclude on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.



(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 12 2019. 07:26 IST