You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

No-confidence motion against Modi 27th in history of LS, first in 15 years

Of the 27, 15 were against Indira Gandhi during her various tenures as prime minister

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi listens to the debate on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha during the Monsoon session of Parliament, in New Delhi on Friday

The no-confidence motion moved against the Narendra Modi-led government, taken up in the on Friday, is the 27th in the history of the House and the first in 15 years.

Of the 27, 15 were against Indira Gandhi during her various tenures as prime minister, reveals data from the secretariat.

There were three motions against Lal Bahadur Shastri, three against P V Narasimha Rao, two against Morarji Desai and one each against and Atal Behari Vajpayee.

The first no-confidence motion was moved against in August 1963 by J B Kripalani.

The last no-confidence was moved in 2003 by leader Sonia Gandhi against the Vajpayee-led NDA government.

Only once in the history of the lower house has the prime minister resigned after a no-confidence motion. In 1979, Morarji Desai resigned as the discussion on the motion was inconclusive.

According to details available with secretariat, six no-confidence motions were moved in the third and the fourth Lok Sabha, the maximum.

The third Lok Sabha, from 1962 to 1967 saw three prime ministers -- Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri and Indira Gandhi.

The fourth Lok Sabha was from 1967 to 1970 with Indira Gandhi as prime minister.

Four of the 15 no-confidence motions against Indira Gandhi were moved by CPI(M) leader Jyotirmnoy Basu.

First Published: Fri, July 20 2018. 17:17 IST