You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Council: Oppn red flags membership of Khot, Mete and Jankar

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

The and in the today questionned the Constitutionality of membership of some law-makers, including incumbent ministers in the government, who do not belong to the BJP but "represent the party in the Upper House".

Shiv Sena's has already questionned the BJP over fielding of turncoat and Swabhiman Party (MSP) as one of its nominees for the March 23 Rajya Sabha elections.

Soon after Question Hour, Jayant Patil (PWP-I) wanted to know from the as to whether a or a of any registered political party can contest elections on the symbol of any other political party.

He mentioned that ministers and Mahadev Jankar, and have registered their respective political parties with (ECI) and State Election Commission of (SECM).

Patil said Khot, Jankar, and Mete cannot continue to be the members of the legislature as they are representing another political party (the BJP) and not their own.

Making an intervention, said MLC Kapil Patil though supports Sharad Yadav, is a member of the JD(U) headed by Nitish Kumar.

Saying that a Constitutional gridlock has arisen, of Opposition Dhananjay Munde said Khot, Mete and Jankar are representing the BJP in the

said he would first speak to the legislature secretariat, seek information from the ECI officials in the state secretariat, take legal opinion from the of before replying in the Council.

Meanwhile, an ECI said article 84 (for members of parliament) and article 173 (for members of state legislature), and section 3 of the Representation of the Peoples Act, 1951, lay down the rules and qualifications for candidates contesting these elections.

He said a candidate could resign from his party post and can contest on the symbol of any other party, other than his own party, and there is no ban on candidates doing so.

The pointed out that Rane's MSP is not yet registered with the poll panel.

While Khot, for Agriculture, was a member of before his expulsion, Mahadev Jankar who is heads Rashtriya Samaj Paksha. Mete is a member of the

Khot floated Rayat Kranti Sanghtana after his expulsion from SS.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 15 2018. 00:15 IST