You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

Andhra notifies new capital region in 7,068 sqkm

Andhra govt has notified the Capital Region Development Authority Act, enabling government officials to undertake the land pooling exercise

BS Reporter  |  Hyderabad 

Andhra Pradesh government has notified the new AP Capital Region in an area of about 7,068 square kilometers in Krishna and Guntur districts.

The government has included 29 mandals, partly or fully, of Krishna district and also 29 mandals, partly or fully, of Guntur district in this capital region.

The state government had earlier announced that it would build a green-field capital city for the truncated AP between Vijayawada and Guntur cities and also subsequently identified around 30,000 acres of farm lands in Tullur and Mangalagiri mandals for phase one development.

Over 30 teams of officials from the revenue department have been deployed to start the land pooling exercise from Wednesday.

On Tuesday the government has notified the Capital Region Development Authority(CRDA) Act, which enables the government to undertake these steps mentioned by the Act.

It has also constituted the CRD Authority headed by chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu and the CRDA executive committee under the chairmanship of principal secretary Giridhar Aramane.

First Published: Tue, December 30 2014. 20:38 IST