You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Congress media team members eyeing for Lok Sabha tickets

ANI  |  Politics 

Many members of wish to contest the ensuing polls, and hence have staked their claims for the tickets. Senior wants to contest from Chandigarh, the home-turf of

In 2014, lost to BJP's in Chandigarh, but this time he is getting tough competition from Tiwari in securing the party ticket, and also Navjot Kaur Sidhu, wife of cricketer-turned-politician and Cabinet

In 2009, Tiwari got elected from seat, and held important ministerial positions in then led government at the Centre but expressed his inability to contest the last polls, citing some health reasons. The party shifted to who triumphed against all odds.

Tom Vadakkan, a and veteran of the party's media management team, recently left the to join the BJP. According to sources, he was keen to contest the Lok Sabha poll from Thrissur, currently held by the party senior PC Chacko.

Vadakkan, who was also considered as a key aide of chairperson and one of the loyalists of Nehru-Gandhi family, had tried for the ticket in 2014 Lok Sabha polls as well, but to no avail. The party reposed its faith in Chacko.

Congress party's Randeep Singh Surjewala, who lost Jind assembly by-poll so badly in recently, is not keen to contest the Lok Sabha poll, but his team members are ready to try their electoral luck.

Congress party leader and is eyeing for a Lok Sabha seat from An old associate of former Delhi Sheila Dixit, Khera is said to be lobbying hard to get the ticket.

Jaiveer Shergill, who was recently appointed a member of Congress media team, is said to be a He is keen to contest the ensuing Lok Sabha polls from Anandpur Sahib in

On being asked, Shergill confirmed that he has officially applied for the ticket from Anandpur Sahib seat, currently held by the Shiromani Akali Dal's (SAD) Prof in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Chandumajra defeated Congress veteran Ambika Soni by 23,679 votes.

Pranav Jha, another member of Congress media team, wants to contest from Jharkhand's parliamentary constituency while Priyanka Chaturvedi is seeking nomination from Mumbai Northwest seat. Even new has applied for a ticket from

Minister and long time party is keen to contest from Madhubani, from where he has been a (MP) twice.

The 17th Lok Sabha election is scheduled to start from April 11 and will conclude on May 19. The counting of polls will take place on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 16 2019. 16:48 IST