Business Standard

Jharkhand polls: Rebel BJP leader Saryu Rai to contest against Raghubar Das

Jharkhand polls: Rebel BJP leader Saryu Rai files nomination against CM Raghubar Das from Jamshedpur East

Jharkhand Assembly Elections | Raghubar Das | Bharatiya Janata Party


Raghubar Das
Raghubar Das

Rebel BJP leader Saryu Rai on Monday filed his nomination from Jamshedpur East seat as an independent candidate against Chief Minister

He said that he raised the issue of corruption for the past five years but the government did not take any action.

"I have been raising the issue of corruption for the past 5 years but no action was taken. Instead, my ticket was put on hold," Rai told ANI.

"Such a situation arose that I had to fight against the Chief Minister. BJP Parliamentary Board did not announce the candidate for my constituency. Jamshedpur unit party chief announced who will contest. What does this mean?" asked Rai.

"I have resigned as a minister and legislator. I have not given the resignation from the BJP's membership. The BJP should decide how it will go," he said.

Rai, who was a minister in Raghubas Das government, attacked the Chief Minister over the ownership rights to the people living in unauthorised colonies.

"The government said that there is a CNT Act. That is why property rights to people cannot be given. has been raising the issue of ownership of jhuggi-basti since 1995. Did he not know this before?" he further asked.

The party Congress has fielded Prof Gourav Vallabh from Jamshedpur East.

first won the Assembly election from Jamshedpur seat in 1995 in undivided Bihar, a seat which he went on to win five more times.

Das went on to become the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand and the only one to complete his full term.

Jharkhand will go to polls in five phases from November 30. The first phase of polling will be held on November 30, the second phase on December 6, the third phase on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16 and the last phase on December 20.

The Congress has forged an alliance with the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in the state to defeat the incumbent BJP.

In 2014, the BJP, which won 43 seats, formed the government along with All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU), which had won 5 seats under the leadership of Raghubar Das.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, November 18 2019. 21:15 IST