Business Standard

Mehbooba to contest from Anantnag; PDP not to fight on Udhampur, Jammu

PDP chief Mehbooba said Aga Mohsin will be the party candidate for Srinagar seat

Press Trust of India  |  Srinagar 

J&K CM, Jammu and Kashmir CM, Mehbooba Mufti, Mufti, J&K Assembly, Assembly, Jammu and Kashmir Assembly, Srinagar
Mehbooba Mufti. File photo: PTI

Former chief minister will be the candidate from but the party has decided not to field any candidates for Jammu and in a bid to prevent division of "secular votes".

Announcing the party candidates, chief Mehbooba said will be the party candidate for Srinagar seat.

"I will contest from Anantnag seat, " she told reporters here.

The party has already named former employees' union leader Abdul Qayoom Wani for the

Mehbooba said the parliamentary board of the party, which met earlier on Saturday, decided not to field any candidates from the two Lok Sabha seats in Jammu region.

"The opposition front is not functioning as it should have but we have taken a unilateraldecision to not field candidates from these seats so that the secular vote does not get divided," she said.

Mehbooba said her party had taken around 1.75 lakh votes in 2014 Lok Sabha elections in Jammu seat and over 30,000 in Udhampur seat.

She said the party has not taken a decision yet on the Ladakh parliamentary seat.

First Published: Sat, March 23 2019. 19:55 IST