You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP can't win single seat in WB, they are trying to hide behind central forces: Mamata

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

Slamming the for urging the poll panel to declare "super sensitive state", Minister and TMC supremo Wednesday alleged the saffron party was trying to hide behind central forces as it can't win any seat in the state.

The has urged the to declare "super sensitive state" to enure fair polls and demanded that central forces be deployed at all polling stations in the state.

"What is the reason behind demanding that all booths be declared sensitive in the state? This is an insult to the people of Bengal. The can't win a single seat in That is why they are trying to hide behind the central forces," Banerjee told reporters.

Mockingly advising the BJP to deploy one para-military personnel behind every voter, she said even then the TMC will emerge victorious in all the 42 seats in the state.

"How are they preparing the list of sensitive booths? Since we are fighting (BJP president) and (Prime Minister) Narendra Modi, Bengal is being targeted. The should act impartially," the said.

On the BJP's demand that a be appointed for Bengal, Banerjee alleged that it is the saffron party that is trying to control the media at the national level.

"Never ever the TMC has tried to control the media. The media is free and fair in Bengal. The demand for appointing a is actually an insult to the people of the state," she said.

The BJP is spreading fake in the state and across the country, the minister alleged.

The BJP is trying to make inroads into TMC's bastion state (West Bengal) which has 42 seats. In 2014, the (TMC) won 34 seats, the four, while the BJP and CPI(M) bagged two seats each in the state.

The state assumes importance for the saffron party as it aims to win a sizeable number of seats there.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 13 2019. 20:08 IST