Business Standard
You are here » Home » New Zealand cricket team


New Zealand Cricket Team

The New Zealand cricket team, also known as Black Caps, are administrated by the New Zealand Cricket Board. New Zealand men’s cricket team is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with a Test, One-Day International (ODI) and T20 International (T20I) -playing status.
New Zealand played its first cricket Test match in 1930 against England at Christchurch, becoming the fifth nation to play Tests. But it had to wait for more than 26 years before its first Test victory —Kiwis defeated the West Indies at Eden Park in Auckland in 1956.
The New Zealand national cricket team played its first ODI match against Pakistan in 1972-73.
Currently, Kane Williamson is the captain of the team while the head coach of the Black Caps is Gary Stead.
After World War II, New Zealand hosted the Australia cricket team in 1945-46, but the team had not been granted a Test status at the time — ICC accorded the status retrospectively in March 1948. However, the players who were part of the match did not appreciate this move as Black caps were dismissed for a mere 42 and 54 in the two innings. This was the only Test played between New Zealand and Australia between 1929 and 1972, as the New Zealand Cricket Council failed to pay Australian cricketers a decent allowance for touring New Zealand.
The Kiwis later defeated the India cricket team to win the ICC Knockout trophy (later known as ICC Champions Trophy), the only major title that they have won so far.
The New Zealand team has been known for its explosive batsmen and all-rounders over the years. The Black Caps have had classy batsmen like Stephen Fleming and some genuine pacers who could touch 145 kmph easily. Among the ones who easily touched 145 Kmph were Richard Hadlee, Danny Morrison and Shane Bond. Richard Hadlee served New Zealand for 17 years, a period during which he took 158 wickets at an average of 21.56.
Talking of the batting stars for New Zealand, Martin Crowe’s name comes first to the mind. He served for 13 years and scored 4,704 runs at an average of 38.55. Later, in the 20th century, when the format and style of cricket changed considerably, New Zealand produced some big-hitting wicket keepers like Brendon McCullum and Lou Vincent, both known to rip bowlers apart, hitting them all over the park.
New Zealand cricket team in World Cups
The New Zealand men’s cricket team had a decent record in the first two ICC cricket World Cups (1975, 1979) as it progressed to the semi-finals. In the 1983 and 1987 world cup, Kiwis were eliminated in the round-robin stage.
In the 1992 cricket world, again, New Zealand succumbed in the semi-finals and its elimination in the semis continued in 1999, 2007 and 2011 World cups, too. New Zealand progressed by a notch to enter the finals of ICC cricket World Cup 2015 where it lost to Australia.
In 2015, while jointly hosting the world cup with Australia, New Zealand had a dream run — they beat South Africa in the semi-final in an unreal way. They had just one recognised batsman, Grant Elliot, at the crease when they needed 14 runs off 7 balls. But luck favoured them; though Elliot mistimed a pull shot, South Africa’s JP Duminy and Behradin made a mess of it — in a way serving New Zealand a final berth on a platter.
In the final match, however, they failed to outclass the Australians and were dismissed for a mere 183.

In 2019 ODI World Cup, New Zealand defeated India in the semi-final but failed to get their hands on the coveted trophy after match ended in a Super Over tie. England was adjudged winner as it has better boundary percentage than the Kiwis.


New Zealand Cricket Team In News