Business Standard

Uttar Pradesh phase 4 polling: 37.45% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm

The voter turnout till 1 pm for the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls was 37.45 per cent, according to the data released by the Election Commission

People wait in queues at a polling station to cast their votes for the fourth phase of UP Assembly polls, in Lucknow (Photo: PTI)

People wait in queues at a polling station to cast their votes for the fourth phase of UP Assembly polls, in Lucknow (Photo: PTI)

Press Trust of India New Delhi
An average of 37.45 percent voting was recorded on Wednesday in the first six hours of polling in 59 Assembly constituencies spread over nine districts of Uttar Pradesh, the Election Commission said.
The polling started at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm.
The districts where the polling is being held are Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur, Hardoi, Unnao, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Banda, and Fatehpur.
This is the fourth of the seven phase assembly polls in the state. As many as 624 candidates are in the fray in this round of voting.
According to the ECI, Pilibhit recorded 41.23 percent votes, Kheri 40.90 percent, Sitapur 36.98 percent, Hardoi 34.29 percent, Unnao 35.01 percent, Lucknow 35 percent, Rae Bareli 40.17 percent , Banda 37.66 percent and Fatehpur 40.35 percent.
Around 50.04 per cent votes were till 1 pm in the re-polling on booth number 266 of Karhal assembly seat on the instruction of the Election Commission.
Polling in Karhal, from where SP president Akhilesh Yadav is in fray against Union minister and BJP's SP Singh Baghel, was held in the third phase on February 20.
According to EC officials, polling is going on peacefully. However, the Samajwadi Party has alleged certain irregularities in some areas of Lucknow, Unnao , Hardoi and Sitapur and demanded action.
In Lucknow, BSP president Mayawati, state minister Brijesh Pathak, and a number of senior officials were among the early voters.
At several places, morning walkers came carrying voting slips to cast their votes as soon as the polling began.
According to the Election Commission, 2.3 crore people, including 1.14 crore men and 99.3 lakh women, are eligible to vote, for whom 24,643 polling booths and 13,817 polling centres have been set up in this phase.
Lakhimpur Kheri -- one among the nine districts up for polls -- is the place where last year four farmers were mowed down by cars allegedly carrying BJP workers. Eight people, including the farmers, were killed in the violence there on October 3.
Of the 59 seats across these districts, the BJP had won 51 in the 2017 Assembly elections, Samajwadi Party four, Bahujan Samaj Party three, and the remaining one had gone to the BJP's ally Apna Dal (Sonelal).
In 2017, 62.55 per cent polling was reported across these seats, while in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, it was 60.03 per cent.
Among the prominent candidates in this phase are Uttar Pradesh Law Minister Brijesh Pathak, SP's national spokesperson Anurag Bhadauria, former SP minister Abhishek Mishra, former Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly deputy speaker Nitin Agarwal and Aditi Singh.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 23 2022 | 2:50 PM IST

Explore News